What's Happening

MEPhI receives Web of Science Awards 2017


Presentation of the prestigious scientific award has been held in Moscow. Web of Science Awards 2017 is handed over scientists and scientific organizations for their contribution to the development of science.

At the nomination "Best publication strategy" the prize went to the Institute for Nuclear Research RAS and MEPhI — participant of the 5-100 Project. The victory in this nomination means that employees of the awarded scientific organizations have published their studies in the high-impact journals during the year and have showed the greatest increase in articles in such publications.

The rector of MEPhI Mikhail Strikhanov believes that the award is the result of the University transformation in science, education and management, which is being implemented in MEPhI in the framework of the Project 5-100. "Our strategy in the publication activity of MEPhI scientists is based on the creation of five new institutes at the University, aimed at training in the most modern areas of science and technology, and improvement of scientific research quality,” said the rector, stressing that an important role is played by the usage of the Web of Science database (the search platform that combines the database of publications in scientific journals and patents).

Sixteen Russian scientists also received Web of Science Awards 2017. Among the winners were a molecular biologist Konstantin Severinov (Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology, Rutgers University), biologist Alexey Gurevich (Saint-Petersburg Academic University), physicist Alexander Uverskiy (Institute of Cytology RAS, the University of South Florida), biologist Yakov Kuzyakov (University of Göttingen, PFUR), doctor Sergey Orlov (Research Institute of Medical Primatology), doctor Vsevolod Matveev (N. N. Blokhin RONC), physicist Mikhail Sheremet (Tomsk State University), geographer Olga Solomina (Institute of Geography RAS), geologist Vladimir Seredin (Institute of Geology of Ore Deposits, Petrography, Mineralogy and Geochemistry RAS, posthumously), physicist Ruslan Valiev (Ufa State Aviation Technical University), physicist Sergey Morozov (Institute of Microelectronics Technology and High-Purity Materials RAS, MISIS), theoretical physicist Sergey Odintsovo (Tomsk State Pedagogical University), physicist Yuri Kivshar (ITMO University, Australian National University), astrophysics Dmitry Makarov and Igor Karachentsev (SAO RAS).

A special award, established last year by the Russian Index of Scientific Citation (RISC) together with elibrary.ru, was given to the a mathematician Andrey Zavarzin (Sobolev Institute of Mathematics). The title “ the most highly cited magazine” was given to the Moscow Mathematical Journal, which was in the first quartile in the subject area "Mathematics". The award was presented to the most highly specialized organizations – N.N. Blokhin RONC and Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology.

© 2015-2019 National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)
115409, Russian Federation, Moscow, Kashirskoe shosse, 31
Phone: +7 495 788-5699

Using site's materials is possible only with the active link to https://eng.mephi.ru