International Advisory Board


Shelly Glashow

Sheldon Glashow is a professor of Physics at Harvard University (USA).

He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1979 for his work leading to the development of the electroweak theory combining electromagnetism and weak nuclear interaction, two fundamental forces of nature, within the framework of a unified gauge theory.

Foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.


Siegfried S. Hecker 

Professor emeritus (research) in the Department of Management Science and Engineering and a senior fellow emeritus at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI), Stanford University (USA).

Dr. Hecker is an internationally recognized expert in nuclear security and global threat reduction.

He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States; he is also a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS).

He was co-director of CISAC from 2007-2012. From 1986 to 1997, Dr. Hecker served as the fifth Director of the Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA).


John de-Grosbois

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Vienna, (Austria)

Head of the IAEA Nuclear Knowledge Management Section


Christian Scharff

Advisory partner and Human Resources Services Leader at PwC Luxembourg& France.

He has a significant experience in the financial, industrial and pharmaceutical sectors as well as the public sector.

Leading major HR IS transformation programs helping companies to deploy Workday and SAP-SF and other HR tools embarking AI-ML.

Advising companies on how to manage effects of digitalization on their workforce using advanced technologies.

EMEA technology leader: coordinating PwC HR technology initiatives in the EMEA area.

Leading the Skills bridge initiative: supporting companies to transition workforce through their digital transformation by up-Reskilling initiative.


Saito Masaki

Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan).

Professor Emeritus and Institute Professor, Director of Academy for Global Nuclear Safety and Security Agent, Doctor of Engineering.

2011-present    Director, Academy for Global Nuclear Safety and Security Agent, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan


Philip James Purnell

Research evaluation professional in Knowledge E Company (UAE).

Graduated from the Institute of Psychiatry, London and then went on to hold a research post at the Max-Planck Institute of Psychiatry in Munich, Germany.

He then spent several years working with pharmaceutical companies and subsequently moved into the scientific, technical and medical publishing.

Philip has advised universities, government research institutions and funding bodies across Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia on strategies to evaluate their research output and performance..


Hans Gutbrod

Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research (GSI), accelerator facility FAIR (Germany)

Graduated from the University of Heidelberg, where he received his doctorate in 1970. He then worked in the field of heavy ion physics at low energies in Heidelberg, Rochester (New York), the Brookhaven National Laboratory and Berkeley.

In 1992 he became a Fellow of the American Physical Society. From the 1970s he was a pioneer of heavy ion physics with Reinhard Stock and Rudolf Bock at the GSI in Darmstadt, at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and later at the SPS of the CERN, in particular for the investigation of the equation of state of nuclear matter at high densities and temperatures.

In 1988 he received the Robert Wichard Pohl Prize. He then worked at CERN at the heavy-ion detector experiment ALICE, whose spokesman he was since the early 1990s and where he was until 2001 project manager of the Dimuon spectrometer.

In Nantes, he led the Subatech Laboratory from 1996 to 2001, then returned to GSI, where he participated in the FAIR project of a future GSI accelerator.


Edward Lozansky

President and Founder of the American University in Moscow and the World Russia Forum.

Professor of National Research Nuclear University and Moscow State University. He also founded the U.S.-Russia Forum, an annual event held in the U.S. Congress since 1981 that features leading American and Russian political and business leaders, scholars and foreign policy experts.

He graduated from the MEPhI and the graduate school of the I. V. Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy with a degree in theoretical nuclear physics.

He was a researcher at the I. V. Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy and the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research in Dubna.